What revolution will you lead?

on

This post is part of the daily blog challenge from Live Your Legend.
Daily Challenge #7.

These are my opinions and based on my personal experience.


I’ve answered this question piece-meal in my previous posts but here is my answer. I want to strive towards equalizing gender parity in education. I also want to educate those who are interested in teaching English abroad to be better prepared for the challenges they may face. My work in gender parity is my primary focus with the TEFL education being a side project I will be pursuing concurrently.

I’m researching the market I want to break in to as well as designing my product line for my social business, which will be the driving force behind my ability to change gender parity. Once I have all of the pieces in place (partnerships, business plan, product design, marketing, etc.) I will launch my business and initiatives, which I’m very excited for! The main issues I want to tackle within gender parity in education are:

  1. Increasing quality educational opportunities for females in developing/third world countries. The focus will be on secondary and post-secondary schooling.
  2. Providing support in the form of educational materials to classrooms all over the world, including America.
  3. Educating parents and communities regarding the benefits of female education and how it is a world changer.

The main goal, ultimately, is to give the freedom of choice to females all over the world. Whether they choose the route to education or not will truly be up to them. I hate the fact that society, culture, or familial expectations keep females from getting an education, if that is what they want. I understand that financial issues may bar lack of education but obtaining at least secondary schooling, which is free in most countries, you increase the chances of higher wages for females, which have bigger economic implications. In 2012, a study by OECD shows that:

The increase in educational attainment accounted for around 50 percent of economic growth (2.1 percent per annum on average, for the 30 countries from 1960 to 2008), of which over half was due to increased female educational attainment.

In a 1999 study of 100 countries by David Dollar and Roberta Gatti, they found that:

increasing the share of women completing secondary education by 1 percent increases economic growth by 0.3 percent, a significant amount.

My social business will address these issues through public workshops, scholarships for females pursuing post-secondary education, and the donation of materials to schools struggling to provide the most basic materials to students (or to low income schools where students and their families can’t afford those materials).

The TEFL education issue is something I noticed while teaching English in the Republic of Georgia and now that I’m currently pursuing teaching in South Korea. A find a huge gap in those who are “in the know” or those who are not. Information seems to be hard to find regarding what life is actually like teaching abroad and the steps to get there (despite there being thousands of blogs and videos on the subject). No one is actually educating those interested in the job or charging outrageous fees for the information.

My goal is to provide those interested in TEFL all of the considerations when pursuing TEFL, as well as the resources to research their country and market of choice. How do I choose a school to work with? Which countries are the best to teach in? How do I prepare? These are some of the questions I will be addressing in this blog. If a potential teacher is better prepared, they can provide better quality instruction to their students. Hopefully, it will also help dissuade those not serious about teaching from entering the industry at all. Let’s face it, if you don’t really want to teach but want a year long vacation, TEFL isn’t for you.

This is the revolution I want to lead, no matter how long it takes.

– Alexanio

Leave a Reply

